Trivia #2

Yesterday marked the first anniversary of my relocation to Changhua.

I’d say I’m not the best at adapting to new places. But I really have grown to love Changhua (and the greater central Taiwan as well!). It really is my kind of town. Here are a few things I remembered having made me feel at home when I first got here:

  1. How people care about other people in general – random chats on the streets or in shops, random passengers who helped strangers with directions or gave a helping hand with scooter parking and other stuff – and also, one day, multiple scooter drivers kept looking back worriedly in search of a car owner when the police was about to tow away a car of a complete stranger. Incidents like these were numerous and they made me feel I’m in good hands every time.
  2. Kids on the streets who’ve turned to me and said hi for no particular reason, babies on scooter backseats who’ve smiled at me (okay, I’ll admit, I’ve been smiling randomly at babies and some have miraculously smiled back).
  3. Waterbirds at the lake in the Changhua University of Education. The grace in their movement, how in harmony they were with their environment, not seeming to give a second thought on anything, promptly reminded me: “Look at these birds. Why am I feeling out-of-place again?”
  4. Friends. I hope we meet more often.
  5. Svetlana Alexievich’s book. It was the first time I read more deeply into Russia and the Perestroika and all. Nothing’s more therapeutic than good writing with surgical precision and emotional depth. I highly recommend her work.
  6. The food.
  7. And last but not least, my workplace and my co-workers. For all these time they have nourished me with food, jokes, help, professionalism, and understanding. You have made things a lot easier.

People who know me well know that I’m anything but Pollyannish. So, there, some true gratitude to the place and the people I’ve genuinely grown to like.

謝謝你們。

發表留言